Healthy Heckling

Healthy can be daunting. We get the impression that we need to be on top of our game all the time, that we need to cook every meal, that we can’t eat out, that we can’t enjoy ourselves with our friends. I’m gonna put an end to that notion right here, right now. I am a student, an athlete, a sister, a daughter, a girlfriend, a best friend, and a downright mess most of the time. I am by no means on top of my shit. I eat in restaurants on the weekends and like to go out with my friends. Despite all that, I still manage to eat pretty healthy. Wanna know my secret? I’m a heckler… a healthy heckler that is (said in my cheesiest voice accompanied by a sickeningly sly wink).

dar-monday-47

This may not be the best way to go about things when you don’t want cook.

Maybe heckling isn’t the best way to describe it, but the alliteration was too good to pass up. What I mean by healthy heckling is that I make healthy eating a priority and I make sure EVERYONE knows about it. You’re trying to eat healthy to better your body, to get yourself to a healthy weight, to hit PR’s and feel damn good while doing it. There is ZERO shame in that. Let the world know. The more you tell everyone what you like to eat and what you don’t like to eat, the more they understand what you’re doing. Some people may even join you or at least accommodate you. You’d be surprised the support you can get from your family, friends, and random waitresses when you let them know about your goals and priorities.

Thus begins my Healthy Heckling series of blog posts. Let’s be real, we all know I haven’t been cooking lately, but while I try my hardest to muster up any desire to get into the kitchen around dinner time, why MjAxMy02ZTVhN2JhODhjMGQyOGIyshould you all suffer? Well, you shouldn’t. That’s why I’m going to provide you with some nuggets & pearls each week while I stumble across them on healthy eating without all the cooking.

 

For my first installment: Home Heckling

She may not like this part, but my mom and I are a perfect example of my “healthy heckling”. I berate her with nutrition information on a constant basis. I make it very clear when she makes something that’s unhealthy or could be healthier. I can be, what some might call, an opinionated person. I can get away with this (using this phrase lightly here, mom may not agree) because I also make sure to have the biggest smile on my face and plenty of thank-you’s when she nails it, which is often.

My tips to you:

– Voice your health concerns to whoever’s doing all the cooking while you aren’t

– Don’t force them to do ALL the work. Do a little research and give your chef healthy ideas for dinner so that it’s not all on them. You could even print recipes for them if you have something specific in mind.

– Praise them for every little improvement. Say thank you over and over. Maybe even do the dishes (I’m still working on that last one)85535f99d0d004269ccb0cdc05ab90838798a39e7e9597ff7ee530f8c0cb4311

 

 

Leave a Reply

